Independent guide · not the official UPRTOU website Official site: uprtou.ac.in →
UPRTOU Guide UPRTOU Guide Uttar Pradesh Rajarshi Tandon Open University · Uttar Pradesh

UPRTOU MA 2026: Eligibility, Fee, Duration and Syllabus

Updated 3 October 2026 Programmes 6 min read

UPRTOU offers Master of Arts (MA) programmes in Journalism and Mass Communication (JMC), Statistics, and Yoga for the 2026-27 session. Admissions for the 2026-27 session are open until 07 October 2026 via the Samarth portal. A registration fee of ₹500 and an examination fee of ₹150 per paper are applicable, in addition to the admission fee which UPRTOU has not published as of 03 October 2026.

Key facts

General Admission Deadline 07 October 2026 (for 2026-27 session)
Registration Fee ₹500
Examination Fee (per paper) ₹150
MA Programmes Confirmed MA JMC, MA Statistics, MA Yoga
University NAAC Grade B+
University NIRF Ranking (Distance Education) 3rd in 2025

MA Programmes Offered by UPRTOU

Uttar Pradesh Rajarshi Tandon Open University (UPRTOU) offers several Master of Arts (MA) programmes. For the 2026-27 session, assignment papers are available for MA Journalism and Mass Communication (JMC) and MA Statistics, indicating these programmes are offered.

The university also offers an MA Yoga programme, which requires an entrance examination for admission.

All postgraduate programmes follow a semester system as per the NEP 2020 guidelines, applicable from the July 2024-25 session.

Admission Process for MA Programmes (2026-27 Session)

Admissions for the 2026-27 academic cycle are conducted through the UPRTOU Samarth admission portal. The process involves online application, document upload, and fee payment.

For the MA Yoga programme, admission is based on an entrance examination. Students can find the admission form for MA Yoga on the MA Yoga admission page.

  1. Register as a new user on the UPRTOU Admission Portal.
  2. Fill in the application form, providing details such as Regional Center Name, Study Center Name, Name of Programme, Programme Year, Nature of Programme (Annual/Semester), Medium For SLM, and whether study material is required.
  3. Enter your personal details including Student Name (English and Hindi), Father’s Name (English and Hindi), Mother’s Name (English and Hindi), Date of Birth, Aadhar No., DEB ID, ABC ID, Email ID, Category, Gender, Physically Challenged status, Blood Group, Religion, Territory, Nationality, Mobile Number, Permanent Address, Mailing Address, Employment status, UPRTOU Graduation status, and University Enrollment No.
  4. Provide your educational qualification details for High School or Equivalent, Intermediate, Under Graduation, Post Graduation, and Others, including Board/University, Year, Subject, Marks Obtained/Max, and Percentage/Division.
  5. Upload scanned copies of the required documents: Photograph (<500 KB), Signature (<500 KB), Educational Documents (<1024 KB), and Experience/Category Certificates (<1024 KB).
  6. Pay the applicable fees online.
  7. After completing all formalities, take a printout of the confirmation page for future reference.
UPRTOU: Admission Process for MA Programmes (2026-27 Session) — step-by-step
Admission Process for MA Programmes (2026-27 Session): the steps at a glance.

Admission Deadlines for 2026-27 Session

The registration deadline for general admissions for the ADMISSION-2026-27 academic cycle is 07 October 2026.

UPRTOU has not published specific admission dates for the MA Yoga entrance examination for the 2026-27 session as of 03 October 2026.

Fees for MA Programmes

All fees are payable online at the time of admission for each programme. The prescribed fee is valid only for the current academic session.

In addition to the admission fee, a separate registration fee of ₹500 is applicable.

An examination fee of ₹150 per question paper is also payable, which will be collected at the time of submitting the examination form.

UPRTOU has not published the specific admission fees for MA programmes for the 2026-27 session as of 03 October 2026.

No cash payments are accepted. Students should report any demand for additional fees by study centres to the university in writing immediately.

Fee Refund Policy (Effective from 2025-26)

Time of Withdrawal Refund Percentage
15 days or more before the formally notified last date of admission 100%
Less than 15 days before the formally notified last date of admission 90%
15 days or less after the formally notified last date of admission 80%
30 days or less, but more than 15 days after formally notified last date of admission 50%
More than 30 days after formally notified last date of admission 0%

MA Journalism and Mass Communication (JMC) Syllabus (2026-27)

The MA JMC NEP 2020 programme follows a semester system. Assignments for the 2026-27 session carry a maximum of 30 marks for students admitted in July 2026 & January 2027.

MA JMC NEP 2020 Course List (2026-27 Session)

Semester Course Code Course Title (English) Course Title (Hindi)
1st MA JMC 102 (N) (Not specified) (Not specified)
1st MA JMC 103 (N) Writing for Mass Media tuek/;eksa ds fy, ys[ku
1st MA JMC -104(N) (Not specified) (Not specified)
1st MA JMC -105(N) (Not specified) (Not specified)
3rd MA JMC -111(N) (Not specified) (Not specified)
3rd MA JMC 112 (N) (Not specified) (Not specified)
3rd MA JMC 113 (N) (Not specified) (Not specified)
3rd MA JMC -114(N) (Not specified) (Not specified)

MA Statistics Syllabus (2026-27)

The MA Statistics programme follows a semester system. Assignments for the 2026-27 session carry a maximum of 30 marks.

MA Statistics Course List (2026-27 Session)

Semester Course Code Course Title (English)
1st MASTAT -101N (Not specified)
1st MASTAT -102N (Not specified)
1st MASTAT -103N (Not specified)
2nd MASTAT-201N (Not specified)
2nd MASTAT-202N (Not specified)
2nd MASTAT-203N (Not specified)
3rd MASTAT-301N Decision Theory and Bayesian
3rd MASTAT-302N Multivariate Analysis
3rd MASTAT-303N Econometrics
4th MASTAT -401N (Not specified)
4th MASTAT -403NA (Not specified)
4th MASTAT -404NA (Not specified)

University Recognition and Ranking

Uttar Pradesh Rajarshi Tandon Open University (UPRTOU) has received a B+ grade from NAAC.

In distance education, UPRTOU was ranked 3rd at the national level in NIRF in the year 2025.

Official documents (PDF)

Frequently asked questions

Is a distance degree from UPRTOU recognized and effective for getting jobs?

Uttar Pradesh Rajarshi Tandon Open University (UPRTOU) has received a B+ grade from NAAC. In distance education, the university was ranked 3rd at the national level in NIRF in the year 2025, indicating its recognition and quality.

What MA programmes are offered by UPRTOU for the 2026-27 session?

For the 2026-27 session, UPRTOU offers MA Journalism and Mass Communication (JMC), MA Statistics, and MA Yoga.

What is the last date to apply for MA admissions for the 2026-27 session?

The registration deadline for general admissions for the 2026-27 academic cycle is 07 October 2026.

What is the registration fee for MA programmes at UPRTOU?

A separate registration fee of ₹500 is applicable for all programmes.

What is the examination fee for MA programmes?

An examination fee of ₹150 per question paper is payable, collected at the time of submitting the examination form.

Does UPRTOU follow a semester system for MA programmes?

Yes, all postgraduate programmes, including MA, follow a semester system as per the NEP 2020 guidelines.

Are the specific admission fees for MA programmes published?

UPRTOU has not published the specific admission fees for MA programmes for the 2026-27 session as of 03 October 2026.

Sources

Written from the official UPRTOU pages and documents below, as read on 3 October 2026.